DETROIT CITY COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

All meetings will be held in the Committee of the Whole Room (Coleman A. Young Municipal Center) unless otherwise noted

Formal Session - President Mary Sheffield, Chair

Tuesday at 10:00 a.m.

(Committee appointments, effective for a two (2) year term)

Public Health and Safety Standing Committee

Monday 10:00 a.m.

Council Member Gabriela Santiago-Romero, Chairperson Council Member Scott Benson, Vice Chairperson Council Member Mary Waters, Member Council President Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio

Areas of Responsibility:

- Administrative Hearings
- Airport
- Buildings, Safety Engineering and Environmental
- Detroit Area Regional Transit Authority (DARTA)
- Detroit Transportation Corporation
- Detroit Water and Sewerage Department (DWSD)
- Detroit Wayne County Health Authority
- Environmental Affairs
- Fire
- Greater Detroit Resource Recovery Division (GDRRA)
- Health
- Homeland Security
- Housing and Revitalization (Demolitions)
- Municipal Parking
- Police
- Public Works
- Public Lighting
- Southeast Michigan Council of Government (SEMCOG)
- Transportation

Internal Operations Standing Committee

Wednesday 10:00 a.m.

Council Member Latisha Johnson, Chairperson

Council Member Mary Waters, Vice Chairperson Council Member Angela Whitfield-Calloway, Member Council President Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio

Areas of responsibility:

- 36th District Court
- Board of Ethics
- Board of Review
- Cable Commission
- City Clerk
- Council Appointed Boards and Commissions
- Department of Innovation and Technology (DoIT)
- Detroit Building Authority
- Detroit City Council
- Detroit Wayne Joint Building Authority
- Elections Commission
- General Services
- Human Resources
- Human Rights
- Inspector General
- Law
- Mayor's Office
- Media Services
- Ombudsman's Office
- Pension and Retirement Systems

Budget, Finance and Audit Standing Committee

Wednesday 1:00 p.m.

Council Member Fred Durhal, III, Chairperson

Council Member Coleman Young, II, Vice Chairperson Council Member Gabriela Santiago-Romero, Member Council President Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio

Areas of responsibility:

- Auditor General
- Budget
- Finance

Neighborhood and Community Services Standing Committee

Thursday 10:00 a.m.

Council Member Coleman Young, II, Chairperson

Council Member Angela Whitfield-Calloway, Vice Chairperson Council Member Scott Benson, Member Council President Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio

Areas of responsibility:

- Arts
- Citizens Radio Patrol
- Civic Center
- Cultural Affairs
- Historical
- Homeless Coordination
- Human Services
- Library
- Museums
- Neighborhood City Halls
- Ombudsman
- Recreation
- Senior Citizens
- Youth
- Zoo

Planning and Economic Development Standing Committee

Thursday 11:00 a.m.

Council President Pro Tem James Tate, Jr., Chairperson

Council Member Fred Durhal, III, Vice Chairperson Council Member Latisha Johnson, Member Council President Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio

Areas of responsibility:

- Citizens District Council
- City Planning Commission (CPC)
- Detroit Brownfield Redevelopment Authority (DBRA)
- Detroit Economic Growth Corporation (DEGC)
- Detroit Wayne County Port Authority (DWCPA)
- Detroit Wayne County Stadium Authority
- Downtown Development Authority
- Economic Development Corporation
- Empowerment Zone
- Historic Designation Advisory Board (HDAB)
- Housing and Revitalization
- Licensing and Consumer Protection
- Planning and Development
- Workforce Development
- Zoning

Rules Committee

Council Member Angela Whitfield-Calloway, Chairperson

Council President Pro Tem James Tate, Jr., Vice Chairperson Council Member Coleman Young, II, Member Council Member Mary Sheffield, Ex-Officio