Willie Bell-Dist. 4 Chairperson

Elizabeth Brooks At-Large

Lisa Carter District 6

Eva Garza Dewaelsche At-Large

Derrick Sanders At-Large

Bishop Edgar Vann District 2 <u>City of Detroit</u> BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS "Accountability through Civilian Oversight"





Ricardo R. Moore-Dist. 7 Vice Chairperson

Willie E. Burton District 5

Reginald Crawford District 3

Conrad Mallett, Jr. At-Large

Richard Shelby District 1

Media contact: Gregory Hicks, Secretary to the Board of Police Commissioners 313-596-1295

DRAFT April 13, 2017 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Detroit Board of Police Commissioners asks U. S. Attorney General Sessions to preserve use of consent decrees as essential tool for law enforcement reform

The Detroit Board of Police Commissioners approved a resolution Thursday calling upon U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions to preserve the role of federal oversight of police departments made possible through consent decrees with the U.S. Department of Justice.

"As the nation's top cop, the U.S. Attorney General has a special responsibility for ensuring that law enforcement achieves its goals for community safety and criminal justice without engaging in practices or procedures that violate the rights of citizens and our Constitution," said Board Chairman Willie E. Bell. "We recently achieved tremendous reform and improvements in Detroit through the consent decree process, and we found it greatly helped city leaders, the Police Department, the community and other stakeholders to share the same vision and plan. We know the process works, and we are deeply concerned that Mr. Sessions wants to reduce or end the use of this vital tool."

The Board approved the resolution at its weekly meeting Thursday evening at New Greater Zion Hill Church in Detroit. In other action, the Board also approved promotions for new lieutenants and sergeants.

Created by City Charter in 1974, the Detroit Board of Police Commissioners has supervisory authority and oversight over the Police Department. The Board is comprised of 11 civilian members; the current members are Bell, Elizabeth Brooks, Willie E. Burton, Page 2- Board approves resolution supporting Justice Department use of consent decrees for reform –April 13, 2017

Lisa Carter, Reginal Crawford, Eva Garza Dewaelsche, Conrad L. Mallet Jr., Ricardo R. Moore, Derrick Sanders, Richard Shelby and Bishop Edgar L. Vann.

The Detroit Board of Police Commissioners meets weekly on Thursday at 3 p.m. at Detroit Public Safety Headquarters, 1301 Third Avenue, except for the second Thursday of the month when it holds community meetings at 6:30 p.m. For the Board meeting schedule, video, minutes and other information, visit the website at detroitmi.gov/boards/boardofpolicecommissioners.

